## CALL TO ORDER:

Chair – Dianna Tickner opened the meeting with welcoming all Academy members.

Those attending: Dianna Tickner, Chair Keith Wedge, Vice Chair Gregory Skannal, Chair of the Nominating Committee Ted Ruppert, Chair of the Academy Scholarship Committee Wayne Huebner, Co Chair of Academy Scholarship Committee John Bartel Chris Ramsay Jim Humphrey John Borthwick Alden Hacker Steve Rector Edwin Goetemann **Delbert Day** Jim Humphrey Ralph Flori, Jr. Kent Weisenstein Stephen Rector

Representatives of MST:

Patty Ingle, Development Officer Judy Cavender, Development Officer Samuel Frimpong, Chair, Mining and Nuclear Engineering Robert Laudon, Chair, Geological Sciences & Engineering Wayne Huebner, Chair, Materials Science & Engineering Judy Russell, Senior Secretary, Mining Engineering

Guest Inductee (was unable to attend the Induction Ceremony in past Spring): Greg A Lang of Barrick Gold Mini Induction: Greg Lang

## Guest Speaker: Judy Cavender, Deputy VC of University Advancement (Development)

Discussions focused on where the 5% tax on gifts goes...general fund or where. (See attachment from Chancellor)

- Advancement fund
- Alumni
- Fund Raising
- Development

Suggestion to Judy Cavender to develop a facts sheet (of Frequently Asked Questions) to be sent out to the Alums/Academy Members on the use of the revenues from the 5% tax on gifts. Give examples of the "Donor Restrictions". Need to get the word out on what the 1% and the 5% are used for.

- If the Donor is still alive then can changes still be made?
- If the Donor passes- then what is the process for changes?
- Will revisions to an older endowment be subject to the 1% fee?

Requested Judy Cavendar to supply & forward a "Question & Answer sheet" to the Academy.

# Nominating Committee (Greg Skannal needs to leave early)

Need to have all nominations by Dec 1. Nominations must include the following: recommendation, with supporting documents, resume, etc. Criteria are found in the By Law's. Need to get more of each discipline.

By laws changed (invite 3 times) but no new updates to the committee. Suggestions for <u>the changes to the</u> <u>By Law</u> will be reviewed at the Spring 2010 meeting.

**(By-Laws**: reviewed the marked-up version (Removed "The School" and put the same proposed criteria in the Charter into the By-Laws, clarified how long to re-invite approved Nominees. Adding 3 new positions to the Executive Committee: Chairs of the Standing Committees). This will allow Members to Serve on the Executive Committee either as Members-At-Large or Committee Chairs.)

Suggestions for Sectional meetings

• Due to illnesses / age

# \*\*ON TABLE: from spring (Recommendations- all members review the recommended criterions; plan on adapting, modifying or rejection the recommendation)

(Look at the make-up of the committees- is there a required amount for each committee) Submit your name if you are interested in serving in the different committees) Revisit the term limits.

# Tours of Labs

Working lunch with Department Chairs Presentations

Faculty Awards to be given in the "Spring" when Inductions and Academy Scholars are awarded

#### MINES & METALLURGY ACADEMY'S FACULTY AWARDS

#### Mines & Metallurgy Academy's Junior Faculty Award

#### Award Value: \$1,000 plus Award Certificate

**Eligibility:** this award is given to a non-tenured Assistant/Associate Professor, in any of the three departments – Geological Sciences and Engineering, Material Science and Engineering and Mining and Nuclear Engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology. The selection criteria include effective teaching, research and service contributions to the Department and/or the University. Particular emphasis will be placed on a faculty member's contributions to undergraduate student advancement and graduate student mentoring.

**Selection Procedures:** (The Chairs or their designated selection committee shall recommend the selected candidate t the Academy Executive Committee.) The Chair of the receiving Department will make a recommendation of the recipient to the Academy, with a letter of recommendation (for the Chair) and a statement of contributions from the recipient faculty member.

#### Submission Deadline to the Academy: March of the Awarding Year

#### Mines & Metallurgy Academy's Senior Faculty Award

#### Award Value: \$1,000 plus Award Certificate

**Eligibility:** This award is given to a tenured associate Professor or Professor in any of the three departments - Geological Sciences and Engineering, Material Science and Engineering and Mining and Nuclear Engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology. The selection criteria include effective teaching, research and service contributions to the Department and/or the University. The faculty member must demonstrate a track record of successful contributions towards undergraduate student advancement, graduate student mentoring, and overall department recruitment efforts and advancement.

**Selection Procedures:** (The Chairs or their designated selection committee shall recommend the selected candidate to the Academy Executive Committee.) The Chair of the receiving Department will make a recommendation of the recipient to the Academy, with a letter of recommendation (from the Chair) and a statement of contributions from the recipient faculty member.

#### Submission Deadline to the Academy: March of the Awarding Year

<u>Web Site</u>: Barbara Robertson- Reminding Academy if there are any recommendations or suggestions for the web site just email Barbara (<u>barb@mst.edu</u>). Newsletters can be uploaded.

## Executive Committee:

Approval of the Spring Minutes (Bud Hacker 1<sup>st</sup>, Ed Goetmann 2<sup>nd</sup>) Motion passed unanimously. Academy Hall (Display Cases) weighing options for keeping the inductees on the wall and limit the Academy Scholar to one cabinet. A suggestion was made to store/place the past academy scholars in the Ceramic Conference room- leaving only the recent scholars in the cabinet. Per Wayne, this can be worked out among the Chairs (Bob Laudon of GSE, Samuel Frimpong of MNE and Wayne Huebner of MSE) and the cost can be covered from the Mines and Met Equipment Fund

## Scholar Award Committee:

Ted Ruppert plans to continue the gifts of Watches for the Academy Scholars as has been done in the past 2 years (7 academy scholars = \$7000.) A budget will be worked up.

New members on the Scholarship Committee: Steve Rector, Kent Weisenstein, and John Borthwick. Members now consist of: Ted Ruppert – Chair, Wayne Heubner- Co Chair, William Horst, George Taylor, Steve Rector, Kent Weisenstein and John Borthwick. (Bryon Keil and Dick Hunt will possibly stay on).

Officer election will be held on the April 22<sup>rd</sup> "Spring" meeting.

Meeting adjourned.